Giving Voice to Canadians Concerned About Breast Cancer

your path to accessing financial resources

FinancialNavigator

Income Programs


Workers Compensation Benefit (WCB)

In Canada, every province /territory administers a Workers’ Compensation Benefit (WCB) program.  The federal government administers their own program – the Labour Program – for federal workers.  Each WCB program is focused on protecting employees from the financial hardships associated with workplace-related injuries or occupational diseases.

If you feel your breast cancer is related to a workplace-related injury or an occupational hazard, you are entitled to make a claim to the WCB program in your area.  It is important to consider the following in making the decision to apply:

  • There are few studies that link workplace injury or hazards to breast cancer;
  • A definitive cause is not required, but there must be some indication that there might be a link to the workplace environment (e.g. several other workers receive the same diagnosis around the same time);
  • You need to make your employer aware of your claim;
  • There are assessment protocols in place in some WCB programs for claims that involve certain cancers/occupations (e.g. mesothelioma in workers exposed to asbestos) but none for claimants with breast cancer;
  • A claim for cancer as a work-related injury can take a long time to process and you may have to undergo additional medical examinations or test requested by the WCB; you may wait many months before a decision is made on your claim;
  • If you are approved and receive WCB payments, it could make you ineligible for other income programs.

To find out more information, contact the WCB Program in your region.

SHARE

Medsearch

Where metastatic drugs are available in Canada

Quick Find

Our Stories

Events

See our calendar

FAQ's

We value your feedback
Glossary of Terms

Not sure of a term referenced in the FinancialNavigator?

Click here to find the definition.

Additional Information

I have information to help update this tool, who do I contact?

If you have additional information that would be helpful to include in this tool please email cbcn@cbcn.ca or call us at 1-800-685-8820.

Contacting CBCN

How can I connect with CBCN directly about specific questions?

Connect with us via email at cbcn@cbcn.ca or on the phone at 1-800-685-8820.

By continuing to use our site, you consent to the processing of cookies, user data (location information, type and version of the OS, the type and version of the browser, the type of device and the resolution of its screen, the source of where the user came from, from which site or for what advertisement, language OS and Browser, which pages are opened and to which buttons the user presses, ip-address) for the purpose of site functioning, retargeting and statistical surveys and reviews. If you do not want your data to be processed, please leave the site.

La Voix Des Canadiennes Atteintes D'un Cancer Du Sein

Votre voie d’accès à des ressources financières

Explofinances

Programmes de supplément du revenu


Indemnités d’accidents du travail

Au Canada, chaque province et territoire administre un programme d’indemnités d’accidents du travail. Le gouvernement fédéral gère son propre programme destiné aux employés fédéraux, le Programme du travail. Chacun de ces programmes cherche à protéger les employés des difficultés financières associées aux blessures survenues au travail et aux maladies professionnelles.

Si vous croyez que votre cancer du sein est lié à un accident de travail ou à un risque professionnel, vous avez le droit de présenter une demande d’indemnisation à la commission des accidents du travail de votre région. Il importe de tenir compte des éléments suivants au moment de prendre la décision de présenter une demande :

  • Il existe peu d’études qui lient les blessures ou les risques en milieu de travail au cancer du sein ;
  • Une cause définitive n’est pas requise, mais il doit y avoir des signes qui portent à croire qu’un lien avec l’environnement de travail peut être établi (par exemple, plusieurs autres travailleurs ont reçu le même diagnostic à peu près au même moment) ;
  • Vous devez mettre votre employeur au courant de votre demande d’indemnisation ;
  • Certains programmes d’indemnités d’accidents du travail disposent de protocoles d’évaluation dans les cas de demandes liées à certains cancers ou à certaines professions (par exemple, les cas de mésothéliome chez les travailleurs exposés à l’amiante), mais il n’existe aucun protocole pour les demandeurs atteints du cancer du sein ;
  • Le traitement d’une demande pour un cancer considéré comme une blessure liée au travail peut s’avérer long et vous pourriez devoir subir d’autres examens médicaux et tests exigés par le programme d’indemnisation. Vous pourriez attendre de nombreux mois avant qu’une décision relative à votre demande soit rendue ;
  • Si votre demande est approuvée et que vous touchez des indemnités d’accidents du travail, vous pourriez devenir inadmissible à d’autres programmes de supplément de revenu.

Pour en apprendre davantage, contactez le programme de la commission des accidents du travail de votre province.

FAQ

Vos commentaires nous importent
Glossaire

La signification d’un terme utilisé dans l’Explofinances vous est incertaine ?

Cliquez ici pour en obtenir la définition.

Informations supplémentaires

Je possède des renseignements pouvant contribuer à la mise à jour de ce guide. Qui devrais-je contacter ?

Si vous avez des renseignements supplémentaires qu’il serait utile d’ajouter à ce guide, veuillez nous écrire au cbcn@cbcn.ca ou nous appeler au 1-800-685-8820.

Nos coordonnées

Comment puis-je joindre directement le RCCS si j’ai des questions sur un sujet précis ?

Vous pouvez nous joindre par courriel au cbcn@cbcn.ca ou par téléphone au 1-800-685-8820.