The Voice of Canadians With Breast Cancer

Week of:

March 22nd

COVID-19 Resources and Updates

We know that there is increased risk of serious complications for those who are over the age of 65, have underlying medical conditions or who have a compromised immune system. Anyone who is currently undergoing treatment for breast cancer, and even those who have completed treatments in recent years, are considered part of this high-risk population. Our hope is that communities can come together, by staying apart, to help protect the most vulnerable. 

Breast Cancer and COVID-19

As Canada responds to the global COVID-19 pandemic, some cancer centres have begun postponing scheduled breast cancer surgeries in preparation for an expected influx of COVID-19 patients. This has led some breast cancer patients to express concerns about delays in their surgical treatment and care.  

The Canadian Breast Cancer Network (CBCN) shares these concerns. “It is natural for patients to be concerned about delays to their treatment and to fear any progression of their cancer,” states Cathy Ammendolea, CBCN board Chair. "As someone who has had a personal, lived experience with this disease, I know first-hand the anxiety that accompanies any delay in your treatment plan.” 

In these challenging times, cancer agencies are facing an unprecedented scenario that requires changes and reductions in access to care in order to contain this global health crisis. However, it remains imperative that health officials continue to proactively plan for how best to serve all patients - particularly vulnerable cancer patients. CBCN urges provincial governments and cancer agencies to ensure that cancer patients are being adequately informed of any delays to their surgical treatment and that there is a mechanism in place to appropriately address patients’ questions and concerns during this crisis.  

The Canadian Breast Cancer Network remains committed to working with health authorities to ensure that the needs of breast cancer patients in Canada are being addressed.  

Where can you find out more information about COVID-19 and cancer?

 Here are some informative and credible resources:
The Canadian Cancer Society
The American Cancer Society
General COVID-19 information, as well as the latest updates can be found on the Public Health Agency of Canada website.

Should you have specific questions about your treatments and scheduled appointments, contact your cancer centre or health care team directly and they can provide you with specific information regarding the measures that are being taken at that centre. 

SHARE

Financial
Navigator

Your path to accessing financial resources

Quick Find

Our Stories

Events

See our calendar

La Voix Des Canadiennes Atteintes D'un Cancer Du Sein

La COVID-19
& le cancer du sein

La COVID-19 et le cancer du sein

Nous savons que certains facteurs accroissent le risque de complications graves : être âgé(e) de plus de 70 ans, souffrir de maladies sous-jacentes ou avoir un système immunitaire affaibli. Toutes les personnes qui reçoivent actuellement un traitement contre le cancer du sein et même celles qui ont terminé des traitements au cours des dernières années sont réputées appartenir à cette population à haut risque. Notre souhait, c’est qu’en unissant leurs efforts, les membres des collectivités parviendront à protéger les plus vulnérables d’entre eux en maintenant une saine distance entre tous.

Le cancer du sein

Au moment où le Canada fait face à la pandémie mondiale de la COVID-19, certains centres de cancérologie ont commencé à remettre à plus tard des interventions chirurgicales contre le cancer du sein en prévision d’un afflux de patients atteints de ce virus. Conséquemment, certaines patientes souffrant d’un cancer du sein ont exprimé leurs craintes quant au report de leur traitement chirurgical et de leurs soins.

Le Reseau canadien du cancer du sein (RCCS) partage ces préoccupations. « Il est normal pour les patientes de s’inquiéter du report de leur traitement et de redouter une progression de leur cancer », affirme Cathy Ammendolea, présidente du conseil du RCCS. « J’ai moi-même été atteinte de cette maladie. Je connais donc d’expérience l’anxiété qui accompagne tout retard dans le traitement. »

En ces temps difficiles, les organismes de lutte contre le cancer font face à un scénario sans précédent qui nécessite une modification et une réduction de l’accès aux soins afin d’endiguer cette crise sanitaire mondiale. Il demeure cependant impératif que les responsables de la santé publique continuent à planifier de façon proactive comment servir le mieux possible tous les patients, en particulier les cancéreux vulnérables. Le RCCS exhorte les gouvernements provinciaux et les agences provinciales du cancer à s’assurer que les patients atteints d’un cancer sont informés adéquatement de tout report de leur traitement chirurgical et qu’il existe un mécanisme pour répondre convenablement à leurs questions et à leurs préoccupations durant cette crise.

Le Réseau canadien du cancer du sein demeure résolu à collaborer avec les autorités sanitaires pour veiller à ce que les besoins des Canadiennes atteintes d’un cancer du sein soient pris en compte.

Où pouvez-vous trouver plus de renseignements sur la COVID-19 et le cancer ? 

Voici deux sites qui offrent des informations fiables :
La Société canadienne du cancer
L’American Cancer Society (en anglais seulement)

Les informations générales sur la COVID-19 de même que les mises à jour les plus récentes sont disponibles sur le site Web de Santé Canada.

Si vous avez des questions précises au sujet de vos traitements et de vos rendez-vous, communiquez directement avec votre centre de cancérologie ou votre équipe de soins. Ils pourront vous transmettre des renseignements détaillés sur les mesures prises à cet endroit.

PARTAGER

Médirepère

Où sont offerts les médicaments contre le cancer métastatique au Canada

Recherche rapide

Nos témoignages